I guess it’s true…

ImageYou really can break a habit in 21 days! I was a dessert lover before this Lenten season. If you looked up dessert lover in the dictionary you would see a picture of me substituting ice cream for meals, and chocolate for healthy snacks. I could never turn down a cookie or cupcake, and when I would stop for a snack before class I would always have to grab a KitKat or Hersheys bar.

 

The first week or so was pretty difficult… Every time I would be in line to check out in our student center on campus I wanted to just grab some candy, or after games parents would bring us homemade desserts that looked delicious and I would want one so bad.

 

But as the days went on it was easier and easier for me to say no to my temptations (unfortunately all of the calories I didn’t consume from desserts, I managed to take in from eating extra meals and extra large portions. Maybe portion control will be my next habit to fix!).

 

And (almost) 46 days later I am a new woman!

 

During the past couple of weeks I haven’t even thought about dessert or chocolate. I can walk by the ice cream stand in the cafeteria and not even be tempted to look at the flavors of the day. It is AMAZING!

 

With Easter coming up this Sunday I should be so excited that I can finally eat dessert again, but I find myself not even craving it anymore. I am slightly terrified that once I have one bite of something sugary it will be downhill from there, and I will want to eat EVERYTHING sugary all the time. However, I am hoping that not only did I break my sugary habit over the past few weeks but that I also developed some will power!

Leave a Reply

