The super fit watch. Coming to a store near you. #Iwish

For all of you fitness fanatics out there I am sure you either own or have considered purchasing an activity tracker of some sort at some point in your life. I remember my first and only activity tracker, it was a pedometer given to me by my gym teacher in 5th grade (2002). I thought it was the coolest thing at the time, I just needed to clip it onto the waste of my pants, and it counted all my steps! AND the best part was if you shook it in your hand the steps increased so if I didn’t reach the amount of steps the gym teacher said I should in a day I could just shake it until the screen said I did. Pretty accurate device don’t you think?

Image

This is what my pedometer looked like!

 

Since my first pedometer the technology in activity trackers has significantly improved. There are devices that tell you how far you have run, how fast, your heart rate, where you ran, if you’re on target to reach your weekly running goals, and it even tells you the time and wirelessly transfers your logs online to Garmin Connect (Garmin Forerunner 310XT). Then there is the Nike+ Fuel Band SE which measures movement, intensity of workouts, enables sleep tracking, and displays your fuel points for the day. And there is also the Fitbit Force which tracks steps, distances, stairs climbed, calories burned, active minutes, monitors sleep, and wakes you up with a silent alarm.

 

There are many activity trackers out there today; each one claiming it is better and more accurate than the next (which is almost true, every time a company releases a new device it is better than the one before it!). But how accurate are these devices? And how advanced will the technology get? 

 

I think that the technology in these devices will continue to get more and more advanced to the point where the device you wear on your wrist will be able to record your motions, calories burned, heart rate, and have other cool features. One feature it might have is, since it records your motions it will then wirelessly upload the recording to your computer and produce a video with your avatar in it doing the workout that you just did. You would then be able to share these videos. The device will also allow you to set goals for yourself whether it be “I want to cut ten seconds off my mile time” or “I want to increase my bench press weight by 40 pounds” and have the ability to track your work outs and tell you how long it will take you to reach your goal if you continue doing what you’re doing. You’re goals and progress could also be sent to your social media sites to show your friends the progress you are making at the gym. Another feature that would be really cool on these devices is if a hologram could be projected out of the watch and every time you are not sure on how to do an exercise the hologram could appear in front of you and demonstrate the exercise for you. That would be like having a personal trainer attached to your wrist!

 

Jenna Crupi

Leave a Reply

