Getting LinkedIn to Fitness.

 Before I begin a little background information is needed: “LinkedIn is a social networking website for people in professional occupations,” basically Facebook for professionals…

When I think of LinkedIn I think about jobs, resumes, job postings, and professional networking. LinkedIn has always been a place where I could connect with people I know in a more professional way then I would on Facebook. I update my LinkedIn profile with my latest education, awards, and work experience, not with pictures I took last weekend.

That being said, I did not realize there was more to LinkedIn than work accomplishments, lists of degrees people received and job information.

HOWEVER, there is more.

Next time you are on LinkedIn hover over the “Interests” tab and click groups, then feel free to search any topic you’re interested in.

I searched “fitness”

Boy did I discover a lot! There were pages and pages of different fitness groups. Some of the groups were open groups that anyone could check out and others were closed which means you have to request to be apart of the group and the administrator of the group approves you to see the group’s posts.

All of groups unique so I decided to check out a few of them. The group I visited was called “Diet and Fitness”. This group asks viewers to join however, you can still see all of the content without joining. There are three types of posts in this group, general, job, and promotion. I found that most of the posts are articles sharing information about diet and fitness. The posts do not seem to get a lot of recognition (likes and comments). A variety of people have posted in the group but there are a few accounts that show up multiple times.Screen Shot 2013-11-19 at 10.11.27 PM

The next group I checked out was called “Fitness and Health Professionals”. This group looks a little more professional, the manager of the page has his picture posted on the main page, there are over 40,000 members in the group, and there is a banner running across the page telling viewers to “join the group to receive daily or weekly activity updates.” This group also has members posting interesting articles about health and fitness that are supposed to be sparking discussion between members however, just like the previous group there is very little interaction. This group has one post that has 373 likes and 3,162 comments but it is from March 2011! And after that post the interaction between group members takes a plunge.

Screen Shot 2013-11-19 at 10.11.34 PM

The information and articles that are being posted in these groups’ looks very interesting, which makes me wonder even more why group members aren’t likeing or commenting on the articles. I believe that it could be because people are not actually going to LinkedIn to look for articles like this, people are going to LinkedIn to do the things I mentioned earlier, looking for jobs, posting resumes, etc. People can go so many other places to get interesting, informative articles about health and fitness, so why would they use LinkedIn?

What do you think? Leave your thoughts in the comment box below!

 

 

Jenna Crupi

2 thoughts on “Getting LinkedIn to Fitness.

  1. Oh Wow!
    I have a linkedin but I only use it as a professional portfolio (and I don’t use it much). I’m going to go and try searching for fitness groups there now hahahaha! thanks!

    Have a Healthy Holiday!
    Lara Novales
    Thinspirational Journey | Fit Healthy & Beautiful
    http://www.thinspirationaljourney.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

